How does Alternate Side Parking work?

Alternate side parking (or ASP) is the NYC parking rule that forces the clearing of parked cars to accommodate the street cleaning schedule.

Alternate Side Parking NYC sign
If you are parking on a block with a sign like this one – containing a “P” crossed by a broom – then alternate side parking may be enforced.

 

It happens once or twice a week in many areas of Manhattan, The Bronx, Queens and Brooklyn. If you park during alternate side parking hours, you are likely to get a street cleaning ticket.

What time is Alternate Side Parking enforced?

Most areas have either 1½ hour or 3 hour restrictions but the hours of enforcement vary a lot – you will find them posted on the parking signs. To check the hours for any parking spot in Manhattan, The Bronx, Queens and Brooklyn you can simply use our map below and tap on a parking spot.

CLICK FOR NYC ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING MAP WITH CALENDAR

Is it legal to park after the Street Sweeper passes?

No, you can’t legally park until the end time of any parking rule. Street sweepers will occasionally go around the block twice. It is common in the fall when leaves are likely to clog the brushes. You would still be at risk of getting a street cleaning NYC ticket.

How much is a Street Cleaning NYC Ticket?

NYC parking tickets are among the most expensive in the country. In 2016, they totaled $440 million! Street Cleaning NYC was the #1 parking violation in Brooklyn, The Bronx and Queens!

A street cleaning NYC ticket costs $65 if you live in Manhattan on 96th Street or below and $45 in all other areas including Brooklyn, The Bronx and Queens.

Chart - NYC Parking Tickets (2016)
Street Cleaning NYC versus other NYC parking violations (2016)

So how do I avoid getting a Street Cleaning NYC Ticket?

There are two main reasons why this ticket is so common:

  • Parking signs are often hard to understand
  • Many people simply forget about it because they didn’t set a reminder/alarm

A few services to track the alternate side parking schedule are currently available. New York City DOT has a NYC alternate side parking map but the search is very complicated and it’s not mobile-friendly. Other companies also offer a map but the data is often missing or inaccurate.

The SpotAngels app is the easiest way to deal with the issue and is used by thousands of NYC residents. The app runs in the background to AUTOMATICALLY set a reminder for alternate side parking each time you park. It was featured on the Apple App Store and Google Play Store as one of the best apps of the year and described as “Waze for parking” and “the parking hero we’ve needed but never had”.

ASP NYC app
Get Reminders for ASP with the SpotAngels App

When is Alternate Side Parking Suspended?

The City of New York suspends alternate side parking rules during legal and religious holidays (see list below), during emergencies such as severe weather and occasionally makes temporary suspensions to change signage.

Caution: ASP rules may apply in metered parking zones. When ASP rules are suspended for a holiday or other reason, the parking meters may remain in effect. The easiest way to figure out whether you can park or not on a given day is to check the link below to our map.

CLICK FOR NYC ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING MAP WITH SUSPENSIONS CALENDAR

Legal and religious holidays for 2018

New Year’s Day – Mon Jan 1, 2018
Martin Luther King Day – Mon Jan 15, 2018
Lincoln’s Birthday (Observed) – Mon Feb 12, 2018
Ash Wednesday – Wed Feb 14, 2018
Asian Lunar New Year – Fri Feb 16, 2018
Presidents Day – Mon Feb 19, 2018
Purim – Thurs Mar 1, 2018
Holy Thursday – Thurs Mar 29, 2018
Good Friday – Fri Mar 30, 2018
Passover (1st/2nd Days) – Sat to Sun Mar 31 to Apr 1, 2018
Holy Thursday (Orthodox) – Thurs Apr 5, 2018
Good Friday (Orthodox) – Fri Apr 6, 2018
Passover (7th/8th Days) – Fri to Sat Apr 6 to Apr 7, 2018
Solemnity of Ascension – Thurs May 10, 2018
Shavuot (2 Days) – Sun to Mon May 20 to May 21, 2018
Memorial Day – Mon May 28, 2018
Eid al-Fitr (Idul-Fitr) – Fri to Sun Jun 15 to Jun 17, 2018
Independence Day – Wed Jul 4, 2018
Feast of the Assumption – Wed Aug 15, 2018
Eid al-Adha (Idul-Adha) – Tues to Thurs Aug 21 to Aug 23, 2018
Labor Day – Mon Sep 3, 2018
Rosh Hashanah – Mon to Tues Sep 10 to Sep 11, 2018
Yom Kippur – Wed Sep 19, 2018
Succoth (2 Days) – Mon to Tues Sep 24 to Sep 25, 2018
Shemini Atzereth – Mon Oct 1, 2018
Simchas Torah – Tues Oct 2, 2018
Columbus Day – Mon Oct 8, 2018
All Saints Day – Thurs Nov 1, 2018
Diwali – Tues Nov 6, 2018
Election Day – Tues Nov 6, 2018
Veterans Day – Mon Nov 12, 2018
Thanksgiving Day – Thurs Nov 22, 2018
Immaculate Conception – Sat Dec 8, 2018
Christmas Day – Tues Dec 25, 2018

Emergency suspensions (in particular snowstorms)

The City of New York suspends alternate side parking during severe weather such as snowstorms to facilitate the work of city services and to keep cars off the streets during chaos. Once the snowstorm is over, ASP rules will be enforced again so that plows can begin removing snow from the parking lanes and help restore normal street cleaning operations. The City of New York provides real-time information through their dedicated Twitter account for ASP below.


Temporary suspensions (change of signage)

When the City of New York needs to update the street cleaning rules, alternate side parking may be suspended temporarily to allow DOT to post the new signs in the area. Only ASP rules are suspended in this case, not the other rules that may apply. There is usually a 1 week grace period after that during which the streets are cleaned without citations being issued to enable residents to get used to the new ASP schedule.

 

The SpotAngels app (iOS and Android) alerts you whenever alternate side parking is suspended during holidays, emergency and temporary suspensions.

Safe parking!

 

1 Comment

  1. Theofus Reid Reply

    Teachers throughout NYC should be exempt from almost all parking restrictions as are other entities in this great State. Our Teachers whom are shaping the minds and preparing the future Leaders/ Citizens. And they have to waste 45minutes and 20 blocks looking for as wellas parking before they begin teaching.

Write A Comment